Why did you choose Tae Kwon Do

Manny

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hi every one, I'm Manny from Mexico, I'm 39 years old, married for 13 years and with two lovely daughters. Well... why I choose TKD, nice question. It was 1983 was 16 years old and wanted to start in some martial arts, when I was a little boy I studied Judo but only achieved a yellow belt, however martial arts always like me.

So 16 years old and start scouting for w goos martial arts school, I saw some but did not like them, in one dojo I saw a wall covered with so many certificates in so many diferent martial arts that was very funy, how a person can have such sum of degrees in so many stiles, in other dojo I saw no uniformity, I mean the sensei dressed in a way so fancy and the students used a variety of gis from white, to black, to white/black some in t shirts, no,no,no.

In highschool a girlfried who was a blue belt in TKD herd about my desire to train in martial art so she introduced me with his samboknim I atend some clases and was hooked, the stile was Ji Do Kwan and my samboknim was a third degree black belt certified by KuKiWon.

Since the beginin I liked the kicks and the dinamics of TKD, TKD was so circular, so fast,fo furius, in sparring full contact was allowed (I dislike karate point fighting) and afther 4 full yers of training I got my firsth degree black belt.

Martial arts and TKD was everything for me, sadly college, parties and chicks (oh yessss!!!) began to distract me from training and TKD was evolving in a Olimpic Games sport, yes sport, and sadly (for me) TKD began loosing tha martiality and become sporty.

At around 22 years old I dropped TKD, now with 39 years old and a lot of bacon there is a slight chance I will return to TKD for two things, a) I love martial arts, jogging is not for me, foot ball soccer no way, baseball no way, it has to be martial arts period, and b) to gain some health and lose some weight.