Where should I go?..So many options!

DLWoodie

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi,

I have a request for general information; let me start with a bit of background info….

I live in the UK, I started studying Contact Karate when I was 5 and became a Black Belt. When I left for college there were no ECKA clubs near the college so I attended the campus Karate club, but was not impressed by the class and gave it up after a few sessions, working on bodybuilding instead. After college I stopped training all together.

I am now 27 and have recently been through a messy break-up with my Ex and have been left broke, single and very unfit. Not to anyone’s surprise I feel terrible and need to get back into martial arts to claim back the energy and clarity of Mind, Body and Sole.

I have decided that I have some catching up to do and now fully intend to travel to Asia and study martial arts intensively. I have started doing research into the options available and have been tempted to study Wushu in china (Despite my inner child screaming to go to a Ninja camp), and have looked at options of studying with ShaoLin Monks, or studying at a dedicated academy, like the Academy of Wushu ( http://www.wushuacademy.com/ ). These are obviously not plans as yet so I am totally open to ideas or suggestions about any possible course of action; I would be interested to hear about any experiences or thoughts good and bad.

Thanks.

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Many of us have been where you are now..This is an EXCELENT time to get into MA training..Focus that anger and hurt into something constructive and not resort to the self destructive behavior MANY of us went through, myself included..As for suggestions on what or where only YOU can be the judge.. Visit a couple of schools and listen for the "little voice" that tells you that THIS is the place to be...

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Drac said it nicely.