When Martial Arts Instructors become questionable...

Ronin74

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Hi there. Other than my Meet & Greet intro, this would be my first real post. I'm hoping I could get some advice from possibly other instructors, or people who've been in similar situations.

I've pretty much kept a low profile in my local martial arts community for the last 5 or so years. Prior to that, I was an instructor, and received my training from a master who helped me taught me the skills of the art I taught, and helped take them to levels I never even thought I'd reach with other instructors. At one point, we were traveling and doing demonstrations for everything from local cultural events, to big martial arts-themed events. That all stopped when it started seeming like my master was focusing more on the business and notoriety, than on training.

Now I'll go on the record as saying his martial arts skills are still very much beyond those I've seen, and I don't think his skills as a teacher have diminished. However, questionable acts- such as dues paid up without any compensation, or broken promises between a teacher and student- left a bitter taste with me, and since then, I've sort of chose to disappear.

Back to the present, I've come to realize how much I love the arts, and really want to take myself to new levels. The only problem is, my previous instructor was the only one I've met who could do that. I tried going back for a few classes, but so much has changed, and it's felt more like a "watering-down" than an evolution. Other places I've trained ended up being more geared towards competitions (not that I'm against competition for the sake of improvement), and less about the art and its underlying philosophies.

So I guess what I'm asking is if anyone has ever been in a similar situation, and what would be an advisable course of action? Should I continue to practice on my own, or hope things have changed for the better? Any advice would be appreciated.