When did you KNOW

Big Don

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Was there a single moment when something CLICKED and you just KNEW you were in for the long haul, that nothing would stop you?

punisher73

Senior Master
Reaction score
For me I had always wanted to take karate. I tried Judo and Aikido, but after my first class I knew that was what I wanted. I enjoyed the other arts as well, but it just wasn't for me. My first instructor was great. He was VERY good at breaking things down into easy to understand and apply concepts.

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I did things in the reverse of Punisher. I studied the external style first and then took up the aikido. The kempo hooked me the first time I took a good hard shot to the ribs and smiled. I knew, right then, that there was something wrong with me. The aikido cemented the deal. The first time I walked into Sensei McCraw's dojo to watch a class I just felt like I was home.

stickarts

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Yes. The first time I watched a class that my fight teacher taught. I was a white belt and not allowed to take his class yet so I sat in the corner out of the way and watched and listened to everything that he said.
From that time on I knew that this was the beginning of a new journey and that he would be my teacher.

YoungMan

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
First day in class. I was 14 years old and knew I would practice Taekwondo forever. I'm still with the same organization.

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
An interesting question, Don.

As I've had two 'career paths', so to speak, in the martial arts (one pre-accident and one post) I have two answers.

Both are similar in a way.

My first class of Lau Gar, I was run ragged by all the physical warm-ups (despite my being in very good condition at that time). Then our instructor introduced us to the delights of stretching and the splits :eek:!