What style?

Greb0603

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello All

I am new to Martial Talk and I have a query. My mate has called me from a new town that he has move to and has asked my advice on martial arts.

I wants to have a go but doesn’t know what to try. His choices are Shotokan Karate and WTF Taekwon-Do. He has visited them both and likes them in equal measure, both schools are into self defence as opposed to sport, which is what he wants.

Problem is he wants a style to stay with but he is 40 and although fairly flexible he has a dodgy knee after a motorbike accident last year.

It’s not a case of one style being better than the other, it’s case of what would be better for him long term.

How should I advise him??

ljdevo

White Belt
Reaction score
Shotokan yeah, bad knee ad TKD could result in misery me thinks

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Another nudge for the Shotokan school...

Shotokan Karate typically doesn't use many high kicks. They focus more on lower stances, but this isn't too hard on the knee, as long as the muscles are doing the work, and not the joint (correct mechanics).

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score
There is such a term as "shotokan knees", so I don't think picking karate over TKD is a no-brainer. Frankly you can injure yourself with any martial art, tai chi included. Heck, I've strained my leg muscles doing yoga!

The key is to know your body and only push yourself as far as you can safely go that day. Some days you will feel stronger and more flexible than other days.

I think your friend should pick his martial art based on which school offers the better teacher in his opinion. Good teachers know when you are trying as hard as you can and will not be callous to your friend's physical constraints.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score