Two Person Dance

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I've been studying Tai Chi on and off for six years now. One of the things that I'm getting into now is two person dance. T.T. Liang created this form for the style of Tai Chi that I study. He combined several two person drills done in other tai chi forms to create a 175 move two person form that is absolutely brilliant.

TT Liang says that without two person dance, the practice of Tai Chi is only half an art. In other words, this is where the rubber meets the pavement. The form teaches Tai Chi fundamentals and it teaches one how to apply these fundamentals to another person. With every move, as ones partner issues force, one learns how to "adhere" to it, "listen" to what the other person is doing, "interpret" that movement, nuetralize the force, and issue a response.

Further, this form is practiced to music and the moves are choreographed to beats. This is an interesting concept because this forces the particpants to focus on the music and on what one's partner is doing rather then on competition and scoring points. By making it a dance, one takes away the urge to fight, allowing one to surrender easier, and allowing one to better instinctualize the movements for self defense.

I'm only part of the way through this form and thus far I've already noticed benefits. My ability to sense what another is doing with physical contact has been greatly enhanced. My fluidity in application of chin na has really flowered. My sensitivity to unbalancing for throws has greatly improved. My reaction to being attacked by surprise has really improved.

My wife and I play with some of these moves around the house and most of the time I don't even think about what I'm applying, it just happens.

All of the arts that I practice have improved because of this practice. Tang Soo Do. Dan Zan Ryu Ju Jutsu. Arnis De Mano. And of course, Tai Chi Chuan.