TSKSR & BJK Connection: What is it, really?

Kembudo-Kai Kempoka

Senior Master
Reaction score
I started training in Moriyama-Ryu Bujutsu, a family-based system with breakaway add-ons from the TSKSR, many moons before Mr. Hayes started espousing the glories of TR in the pages of of Black Belt magazine. Now, granted, I was young and under the throes of an ongoing medically induced melancholy to control my ADHD, so my retention of the oral history is fuzzy at best. At the time, there were very few published works on ninjutsu in English, and only a handful of folks teaching much of anything (I/my family had finagled an invite for me to train based on some friendships we made with a Japanese folk-medicine community in Hawaii). Before Hayes ever published any of his books with the crab-like kamae in apparently unrelated circumstances, the only books I owned mentioning Hatsumi-sensei was a Japanese Stick-Fighting book, written by a brit, and given to me by a brit who was a senior student at the dojo; and one on Ninjutsu with pics of Hatsumi and family members in rustic huts with powders and ladders made of hair ropes. In the stick-fighting book, Hatsumi (much younger then in the ninjutsu book and with a 1950's-ish buzz cut) demo'd varieties of stick-fighting techs, presumably associated with the TSKSR (but I think, even then...and I haven't had the book in my posession for almost 25 years...there were photos of him with his ninjutsu instructors; but again, that's through the lens of memories dimmed by time and meds).