Training solo for four months

MuayThai

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey everybody, I'm a Muay Thai practitioner and I'm new to martial talk here, and looking forward to talking to everybody.

Today I have something of a problem, I'm being forced to train solo for 4 months as I'm working on a farm in Saskatchewan over the summer. I've drawn up a pretty solid training and nutrition schedule, I have all the equipment I need, but no training partners. I'm not accustomed to training alone, any suggestions for keeping myself honest out there and still improving my game?

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Make some friends, and train with them!

Or look into what other styles are available while you're out there, and use it as an opportunity to expand what you've learned.

OP
M

MuayThai

White Belt
Reaction score
A good suggestion, but I forgot to mention that I'm 50 kilometers from the nearest town with over 100 people in it. :(

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Time to get creative.

You say you have all the equipment that you need. I don't train Muay Thai so I don't know what that is.

But you know what you know. Time to make it your own by dragging your but out every day and working on it. Work on your basics. Work on your combos. Kick something hard. Work on your conditioning. You're gonna need to dig in and figure things out and figure out how to motivate yourself.

Maybe make a list of things you want to cover in each session.

Skpotamus

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I'm assuming you have a heavy bag. My suggestion would be to work on your heavybag and do a lot of shadowsparring. I like to alternate a round of shadow and a rnd of bag work.

I would pick a theme and go with it.

EX: Working on hands
Rnd 1 - shadow sparring- focus on movement and throwing real punches (not just short little nothings that most people do when shadow boxing)