Traditional TKD

S

Sparks

I am confused about 'traditional' Tae Kwon Do- what is it and why do I not see schools that advertise it as such?

I recently spoke to an instructor who is in another style and he said that when he was overseas in the military he met a man who practised a Tae Kwon Do unlike what we have here in the USA. Unfortunately I wasn't able to ask him what he meant by that.

If, for example, I am studying traditional TKD does this mean it's more defense oriented and less sport? Thanks.

OP
R

rainbows

Mostly it's certain WTF schools which are very sports-oriented. If you're looking for 'traditional', you're probably looking for a school which concentrates mainly on patterns, self-defence and the more technical aspects of the art rather than promoting tournaments as the be-all and end-all of TKD.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have heard that in Korea you can find more self-defense oriented TKD more easily than here.

Gemini

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I belong to what is considered a traditional TKD school. Though we certainly spend a good deal of time on kicks, we also spend equal time on patterns, blocks, punches, holds and take downs. It's very well rounded. Primarily geared towards self defense. We certainly have sparring, which I personally love, but it's treated as a separate entity with its own classes.

OP
J

JanneM

arnisador said:
I have heard that in Korea you can find more self-defense oriented TKD more easily than here.
Oh, so not true!!!!!

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score
Please elaborate for us JanneM. I would like to hear why you say that it is not true.

OP
T

traz

Alot of people put Korean training on a pedestal, but really, there are some bad schools in Korea just like in North America.