Thomas Sowell - Laureate or Losing It?

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Being that I am an economist by initial education I have of course heard of Thomas Sowell, indeed I have read him as part of my studies.

He isn't one of the 'greats' but he was on the road to gaining a place in the annals of economic theory for his early work, largely by dint of somewhat left-field thinking. Of late he has started to go off the academic rails, becoming more and more contentious and taking flight on the wings of the internet media to write punchy sounding but ultimately calorie-free opinion-pieces for the American Right Wing.

This would not be a problem, other than for him, except that his previous 'serious' writing is giving him an unwarranted currency in certain circles and that earlier serious work is being undermined by his recent controversial outspokenness.

So I thought it might be interesting to see if anyone who is not an economist or a Right Winger with too much passion has consciously heard of Sowell and, if they have, what do they make of him?

<dubious data deleted>

EDIT: Hang on a minute. I dug that quote out of one of Sowell's on-line articles but is Sowell old enough to take the 'credit' for influencing FDR? He'd be a child at that time, surely? Similarly, Keynes died before any significant works of Sowell's were published. Hold the bus, more investigation required ...

Last edited:

Big Don

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
I've read a number of Sowell's columns on social topics. Honestly, Suke, economics kinda makes my eyes glaze over...

Jenna

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score