Them fancy Chinese duds...

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
How do you folks feel about them fancy Chinese get-ups. You know, those baggy satin pants with stripes or curly-cues on the knees like the ace of spades in a deck of cards. Then there's the tops with all those knotted buttons, colored sashes, some with fringe or tassles, heck, even slippers or high top booties to match.

Well back in the 70s when I first started out, I spent a short time in a Shaolin school and when I dumped my old sweats for real uniform I thought that was just dandy! I continued in that frame of mind for a long time, laundering and folding my duds like they were a priest's holy robes. But eventually, after many years in and out of a couple of arts, I began to take a different view.

I think I can sum it up this way. I'm a high school art teacher and I have a dandy old VHS video of a traditional Taiwanese potter working his craft that must date back to the 60s or before. He wears baggy black shorts, a white sleaveless "wife-beater" style undershirt and the same leather-soled black "kung-fu" slippers that we wear at my Kwoon, just like those that Grandmaster Yip Man can be seen wearing in so many old photos. In other words, this old master potter, when practicing his trade, wore the same clothes (except made of more serious, durable quality) that we wear as our extra special "summer" uniforms (with the short pants). So, it turns out that our uniforms are either based on outlandish lion-dancing costumes or on old style Chinese work clothes!

With this in mind, I've decided that outside of exhibitions and other special circumstances (like having to teach class according to my association's rules), I personally prefer an honest seat of grungy sweats. It just seems that they express the truth of what kung-fu is about, ie mastery of a craft through hard work, much more than playing dress-up. ...Any thoughts?

OnlyAnEgg

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score