The Internet Dojang

Status
Not open for further replies.

Last Fearner

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
I am posting this in the Taekwondo forum because I am a Taekwondo instructor, and this comes from my perspective about Taekwondo specifically. Although it can apply to all similar Martial Art variations, and posting a duplicate copy in other forums is optional, I would prefer that this post remains here because it is respectfully directed at my fellow Taekwondoists.

:asian:

The Internet Dojang
by
Chief Master Darwin J. Eisenhart​

Like most of the older participants here on the world wide web, I grew up in a time void of the internet - a time without electronic message boards, chat rooms, or instant messaging. It was an era when, if you wanted to talk to someone, you met them face-to-face, or called them on the telephone. If you had time to wait for a response, your wrote them a letter, put a stamp on it, and dropped it in a mailbox. Just a generation or two earlier, and the telephone wasn't even an option. So, what does this do to human interaction and social behavior? It seems to me that communication has become extremely impersonal. Social etiquette and good manners are pretty much out the microsoft window.