The cup check

shesulsa

Columbia Martial Arts Academy
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
How do you do it? I have a new policy requiring groin protection be worn 100% of the time. I'm a female instructor with mostly male students and while I personally wouldn't be embarrassed to ask for the "knock-knock" check, it's a new world out there and I'm not interested in a lawsuit for inappropriate or suggestive discussion/behavior. What's your across-the-genders approach to the cup check?

Gnarlie

Master of Arts
Reaction score
"Are you wearing the required protective equipment?"

Have a sign-off list of required protective equipment in your joining pack, with GROIN PROTECTOR in capital and bold listed as absolutely compulsory with no exceptions, and a disclaimer that anyone who participates in training without wearing appropriate protective equipment does so at their own risk. Make sure the student returns the signed list before they begin training.

The words 'No Protective Equipment - No Training - No Exceptions' are clear and in my experience work well.

K-man

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Couldn't have put it better than Gnarlie. So .. what he said! :)

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Nothing good could come of you physically checking...even if you were male. I'm with Gnarlie.

I often signed those but never wore one. I don't like them. Haven't enforced would be a negative for me. I wonder if one of the prof. orgs. has advice on this--NAPMA or the like--since hiring a lawyer for your club is likely financially infeasible, I assume.

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score