Texas Job market?

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Anyone know what the job market is like in the Austin, Kyle Georgetown area's of Texas? What's not, what's not, etc?

We're looking at relocating that way soon and it's likely that I'll need to get a job for a while while we get things established and moved.

I already know I need to pack sunscreen and some AC. :D

OP
Bob Hubbard

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Nope, no degree. Self taught web-geek/photographer here. LOL!

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
With the down economy, some sectors will be hard hit and others will be doing better. If it's something that depends on discretionary income...they may not be hiring.

jkembry

Black Belt
Reaction score
Start looking around...I am not sure if there are any govt/mil areas down there, but they usually have openings. But you need to be aware of hiring freezes, if you decide to go that route.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Bob plenty of retail and fast food jobs anything else in Austin will need a degree.

Wild Bill

Green Belt
Reaction score
It depends on what type of job you want and where you want to live. Commuting from Georgetown or Kyle into Austin will kill you on gas. Georgetown is a nice community and I would live there if not for the commute. In theory it should take about 30 min. to get to Georgetown from Austin but I 35 is packed in Austin and Round Rock almost all day every day.