Teaching question -- how much do you typically charge for internal classes?

taichijon

White Belt
Reaction score
New member here from Wisconsin. I just received my black sash and teacher certification for Yang style tai chi, and am going outside of my school to start teaching. I've been talking with a local fitness club to host weekly classes in their (small) classroom, but am unsure of what to charge.

I feel like I should obviously be higher than Zumba classes (which take little to no skill) at say $5 per class, and less than Yoga classes at say $14, which are recognizable and a hot commodity. I'm just starting out teaching and tai chi is relatively unknown here, so I don't feel like I could demand high prices -- though I'd like to make a little $$ and keep this sustainable.

Also -- the club has also asked for a 40% cut to host and help with marketing, which seems high to me.

Tai chi or qigong teachers, do you have any advice on this situation? Does anyone teach at an outside venue or gym that are in a similar circumstance? Thanks for your input.

Danny T

Senior Master
Reaction score
What is your time worth? What is the instruction worth?
40% to host and market - what % would it cost to have your own facility along with utilities, business fee's, insurance, taxes, & marketing? All you have to do is show up and instruct.
How many classes per week, how long are the classes?
What is your projected attendance per class?
What other weekly and/or monthly expenses will you have for instructing?
Will the fitness club do the collecting of fees or you and do the attendee pay per class, weekly, monthly? Cash, check, credit card?
What about uniforms, sashes, testing and testing fee's if you are planning to test? Who provides them how will they be paid for and is that a part of the 40% take to the host?

Mephisto

Black Belt
Reaction score