Teaching myself jujutsu. (Read topic for clearer details)

Oda Clan Kenshi

White Belt
Reaction score
I live in Tacoma, and, there is this school that is teaching Seibukan Jujutsu, and, I want to enlist in that school to train my mind, body, and spirit, but, I am short on cash and I have not quite established my independence in my life.

While I get my life together, is there a way I can teach myself samurai arts before I enlist?

Any kind of resources, videos, maybe even have a partner volunteer?

What equipment do I need?

I know it is highly difficult self-taught, but, as of now, I don't have much of a choice.

Martial D

Senior Master
Reaction score
No, you can't learn martial arts of any sort of your own. Best case scenario, you learn how to do a bunch of wrong movements that kinda sorta look like the art you are shooting for, and it takes longer to unlearn them than it would to start fresh.

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
I live in Tacoma, and, there is this school that is teaching Seibukan Jujutsu, and, I want to enlist in that school to train my mind, body, and spirit, but, I am short on cash and I have not quite established my independence in my life.

While I get my life together, is there a way I can teach myself samurai arts before I enlist?

I know it is highly difficult self-taught, but, as of now, I don't have much of a choice.
Honestly it'll just teach you bad habits which will be harder to fix when you do start it'll be harder than starting fresh. Best thing to do imo is work on your strength and conditioning so you'll be in good physical shape for when you do start

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello, welcome to MT. Do you need to train that particular style or do you think you could do something different but affordable? I understand that you have set your mind on the Samurai thing but frankly I'm worried you may be disappointed that it isn't what you think it is.