Teaching applications

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
When I first started TKD, applications of techniques were taught very specifically; for example, low block was defined as being used to block a low front kick, but since then it's been retaught as blocking any attack to the lower side abdomen - a much broader interpretation that blocking front snap kicks.

If you teach, how do you teach application - as a specific "answer", the "way" (or ways) to use a particular technique, or do you teach theory, that particular techniques are intended for categories of application. As a student, how do you like to learn?

As an instructor, I try to follow a middle path - if I am too specific, I limit my students' ability to apply techniques to a wide range of situations, but if I don't give them some idea of what to use a technique for, at least in the form of examples, they have trouble coming up with it themselves, especially at the white, yellow, and green belt ranks; they tend to get more creative and innovative as they learn their own strengths and weaknesses as they progress through the ranks. But I have real trouble finding the right path through this maze. What do others do?

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
If you teach, how do you teach application - as a specific "answer", the "way" (or ways) to use a particular technique, or do you teach theory, that particular techniques are intended for categories of application. As a student, how do you like to learn?