Tang Soo Do / Moo Duk Kwan

Brother John

Senior Master
Reaction score
I studied Tae Kwan Do Moo Duk Kwan for some time before I'd ever hear of Tang Soo Do. (I was a teenager for the few years I studied it)

I asked my instructor about the connection between these two arts...
he said :
#1 history has never been his strong suit.
#2 He believes that they used to be (almost) the same system, but somehow broke apart.
I have not practiced this style for some time, but I was wondering what the connection is.

This is probably one for my brother Shinzu to jump on. :asian:
Your Brother
John

karatekid1975

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I did TSD MDK before I did TKD. From what I can see (I do WTF TKD now), TSD MDK and TKD MDK is pretty much the same thing, except the "term" is different.

What the "rumor" was and some history stated that a big-wig wanted to unite all the "kwans" of Korea under one org. Hwang Kee (TSD creator) refused. So TKD MDK was formed without him, but some of his students did make the switch. Then different "forms" of TKD were created from there. This is the short version of the history/rumors out there.

I wasn't much into the political part of TSD or TKD (I'm still not). I just wanted to train. I just know I loved TSD a lot (still do), and I'm also enjoying TKD, so that's all that matters to me :D Someday I will do TSD again, but for now, TKD is my thing.

S

Shinzu

i beleive karatekid is correct.

hwang kee refused to help unite all the "kwans" because it would have required him to hand over his authority to conduct black-belt certifications and to determine his schools curriculum. in his view, it would have turned his art into a sport.

believing that would extinguish tradition and limit his students' capacity for spiritual and mental growth, he chose to do it alone.

thus producing other sytems such as TKD MDK.

karatekid1975

Master Black Belt
Reaction score