Taekwondo in life: Looking for stories for a study

Research

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi! I’m a researcher from Finland, currently working on a small study related to Taekwondo with a colleague.
This seemed like a good place to find some answers, please let us know if you think we are in the wrong place.

So: we are looking for people to share their stories in order to learn how Taekwondo is integrated in their lives. The below questions are guidelines, but need not be strictly followed. You can skip any question and 100% improvise with your answer if you feel like it.
  1. How did you end up to having Taekwondo as part of your life?
  2. Tell about your current relationship with Taekwondo; for instance, how much do you spend time with it and in what ways?
  3. What other Taekwondo-related activities you do?
  4. How has your relationship with Taekwondo changed over the years?
  5. What's the role of the community and physical spaces in Taekwondo for you?
  6. How long do you think Taekwondo will be a significant part of your life?
You can post your reply here or PM if you don't wish to share it openly. All answers are treated anonymously. You can also use this thread to discuss the above questions.

We are looking to publish the study next year in peer-reviewed conference proceedings. If you have questions, I'll be happy to answer. A big thanks in advance!

TrueJim

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
  • How did you end up to having Taekwondo as part of your life?
My 5 year old son wanted to practice taekwondo. He asked me to do it with him (because he was a little intimidated by it on his first day). I agreed and quickly realized that I missed doing taekwondo (I had practiced taekwondo in college), so I stuck with it. Four years later he quit, but I kept with it.
  • Tell about your current relationship with Taekwondo; for instance, how much do you spend time with it and in what ways?