Style Change

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I am giving serious consideration to leaving the school that I am currently in. The style is kenpo. I truly love my style but, for various reasons, may have to leave that school. There are and abundance of TKD schools in the area as well as a few karate and jujutsu schools. There is only one Aikido school in the area but I seem to gravitate towards it for some reason. If I make this change how big a change will I be looking at in style? Are there any comparable techniques, how do they differ? Any assistance you can give will be greatly appreciated.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm not an expert in either art but I suspect you'll find Aikido rather different. You'll certainly find it interesting but I doubt you'll find it at all similar. Why not check out several of the schools?

I did Aikido briefly after Karate and it was educational and of course my prior training helped--esp. in breakfalls--but it was quite different.

C

chaosomega

I know very little, but here it is;

Aikido is a very soft martial art, as it used little to no striking. You keep a safe distance and attempt to bring your opponent down by locking joints, throwing, etc... I think. Someone will correct if I'm wrong, I'm sure of it.

Good luck.

Aikikitty

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Originally posted by chaosomega
I know very little, but here it is;

Aikido is a very soft martial art, as it used little to no striking. You keep a safe distance and attempt to bring your opponent down by locking joints, throwing, etc... I think. Someone will correct if I'm wrong, I'm sure of it.

Good luck.