Strangest calls...

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I thought it'd be amusing to throw this out. For the cops, sheriffs, dispatchers, and the like out there...

What're some of the strangest or most unbelievable call you've received?

I'll give two to start:

First was from a shift in dispatch. It was snowing pretty good, and they'd recently cleared trees and brush from along some powerlines that double as a Rails-To-Trails park. Woman calls in, and she's worried. You see, "the little birdies are going to get cold" since their nests and habitat got cut away...

Second... From the street. I was a rookie. (Yeah, I'd handle it differently today.) Got dispatched to help someone look for a lost cat in single digit temps because they didn't have any flashlights... and I did, for 20 or 30 minutes! (Like I said... I'd handle it differently today!)

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
How much time do you have? I've got a million of 'em...

How about the man who called 911 to report he was crossing the street and he got hit in the back of the head with a 'cosmo ray' which caused him to bite his tongue.

There was a woman who called to ask if CD players really had lasers in them. Assured that yes, they did, but very little ones that could do no harm to her, she asked for a police officer to respond and remove it, because she was afraid the laser would get out and chase her dog.

Takes me back...

Archangel M

Senior Master
Reaction score
A CIA operative broke into her house and injected her with a mind control drug, but it was acid and was eating away at her brain (look at the * nonexistent* needle marks!!!)...

There is a Skunk trapped under my shed! Sure enough all I see is the working end of a Skunk aimed at me. Call animal control..not me.

And the ever present "come be a parent to my kid" calls. I have lost count of how many rude, snotty, brats I have had to coerce or outright drag to school...