Starting my first day of Kyokushin Tomorrow. Any tips or advice from all of you badass’s out there?

The Saxon

White Belt
Reaction score
I have been doing mma off and on since 2008 which is when I made my mma debut. I competed in Amatuer boxing as well. Played college football. Have a brown belt in ATA TKD which I don’t even consider myself a rank in anything. I decided to be brave and drop everything and train full time in Kyokushin with a serious desire to make this my life long journey. I have aspirations in competing in professional kickboxing along with Kyokushin tournaments as well. Tomorrow is my first lesson with my Sensei. Any tips and advice from anyone with experience? Also tips on reaching my goals in this field? Thank you so much guys!
OSU!

JR 137

Grandmaster
Reaction score
You seem to have quite a bit of MA experience, so I genuinely only have one piece of advice:

Listen to your sensei.

Do that, and everything will work itself out. Having previous experience makes that difficult some times. Not because we think we know better than the teacher, but because we’re used to doing things a certain way and aren’t thinking big picture.

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
Just do as your told really. If they tell you to do something that contradicts your other stuff the do it. It's their class you follow their rules. Later on you can decide whether you like it or not

_Simon_

Senior Master
Reaction score