Stand Your Ground versus Duty to Retreat

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It is becoming clear to me that there is a fundamental disconnect lately about what "Stand Your Ground" actually means in US law, how it differs from "Duty to Retreat," and what either of them have to do with the current Zimmerman case in Florida.

I am not a lawyer, this is not legal advice.

All US states have self-defense laws. That is, people are allowed to defend themselves from violent attack. If someone walks up to you and hits you, you can defend yourself by hitting them back. That's about as general as you can make it. Some states require that the level of force used be proportionate to the force used in the attack, others do not specify other than to say 'reasonable force' and still others do not specify other than to forbid 'deadly force' as a response to a non-life-threatening attack.

With regard to deadly force, most states that have self-defense laws (actually all of them that I am aware of) also have laws regarding when deadly force may be used. Deadly force is generally described as that force which could reasonably be understood to cause death when applied. Shooting someone is a good example, or stabbing them, or throwing them off a tall building.

A person can legally apply deadly force in the course of self-defense intentionally only when permitted by law to do so. Many states give the basic premise that when a so-called 'reasonable and prudent man' would consider themselves in immediate danger of death or serious injury. An example might be a person who points a gun at you and demands your money; it is reasonable to believe you are about to be killed; many states would permit you to legally draw your own weapon and kill that person. It would be a legal application of self-defense and deadly force.