Single punch board break

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi all,

A quick question:

I train WTF Taekwondo (Chang Moo Kwan), and am currently a 7th geup (yellow belt green stripe).

We have an Inter-Academy Championship this weekend, and I'd like to break a doubled up board (two boards) with a single punch.

I'm am 31, 6'0", 220lbs. Good physical condition, (could use to lose 20lbs, working on it), strong build.

I've broken single boards with a single punch no problem in the past, will I have trouble with the doubled up board?
I've seen double up boards spaced with pencils, should I space them, or just stack them up?
I feel my knuckles are tough enough to take the abuse, but I've never tried this break before.

Any thoughts/advice? I'd really like to perform this break, as there are very few hand strike breaks at our competitions, and I feel it would help me stand out and hopefully place well in the breaking competition.

Thank you in advance!

EDIT - I know that a lot of this will depend on my holders, so I'll do my best to select experienced, strong holders.

bluekey88

Senior Master
Reaction score
As long as you are focused, fist tight, hitting with the proper knuckles in the middle of the baord as fast as you can...should be no problem. I'm of a smilar build to you and have had no problems with that break.

In fact, i'm doing 2 boards with a 3-inch punch as part of my next test without much difficulty. A full punch is that much easier.

rememebr to stay focused, punch fast, keep that fist tight.

Peace,
Erik

OP

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
As long as you are focused, fist tight, hitting with the proper knuckles in the middle of the baord as fast as you can...should be no problem. I'm of a smilar build to you and have had no problems with that break.

In fact, i'm doing 2 boards with a 3-inch punch as part of my next test without much difficulty. A full punch is that much easier.

rememebr to stay focused, punch fast, keep that fist tight.

Peace,
Erik