Should I try boxing?

Silveredge

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm 29, i'm doing functional training the past 2 years (with a break since covid virus resulted in gym lock down) and before that i used to run 6km / 3 to 4 times a week.
I'm well built but i would like to lose a couple of pounds but pretty much that. I always liked boxing and i was thinking of picking it up as a sport. However i am a doctor and i wouldnt like my patients to see my with black eyes. Besides that, am i too old for boxing? and in general, do just people just quit sports when they grow older? I dont wanna that. When u have an opponent in training what do u think about him? u want one of ur punches to hit him or u watch him as a friend with whom u're playing? i've had a couple or boxing classes but that was 1 year ago. Or maybe u have another sport to propose? thank u

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
So to address your main concerns in order:
1. Boxing can help you lost weight depending on the gym. I can't guarantee that though, since I don't know what shape you're in, but I'm gathering you've already determined boxing can help in that regard.
2. You will very rarely get black eyes, or physical visible damage to your face. Particularly as a newcomer, people aren't going to be going full contact with you, so that's not something to worry about.
3. If you want to be a professional boxer, or even go for a golden glove or something similar, you're probably too old. Otherwise, you're pretty young.
4. People quit all the time, but there are plenty of people in their 30s, 40s, and 50s that continue to train martial arts/sport arts. From my own experience people tend to transition away from boxing and to things like karate, bjj or judo as they get past 40 or so, but it's not something that only teenagers do if that's your concern. No ones going to mind your age.