Shito-ryu vs. Kenpo

Fletcher

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I studied American Kenpo for about a year and I recently moved to a different city where I just started taking Shito-ryu. I was wondering if anyone would like to comment on the different strengths and weakness of each or just general differences. I'm not asking which style is better here, I'm just curious about everyone's opinions on the differences between the two.

thanks,
Fletcher

JAMJTX

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Shito Ryu is a traditional Japanese Budo. As such it is highly structured.
You will also find a greater number of kata than in most Japanese/Okinawan styles. American Kenpo stylists tend to frown on Kata and say it is useless. (I think they just don't understand kata but that is another thread).

In Shito Ryu, you will spend much more time developing a foundation of basic skills before learning advanced techniques. My experience in American Kenpo was that little emphasis was placed on developing sound basics.

Shito Ryu was designed for a life time of study, developing mind body and spirit, with the added benefit of learning self defense. You can spend a life time studying and never be considered a master. American Kenpo was designed to learn fast and does not have the depth of Shito Ryu.

still learning

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hello, I started out in shotokan which is similar to shito-ryu. Very traditional, deep and long stances in practices and kata's.

Having been in Kempo for a little over eight years, our style forcus mostly on inside fighting (close-up and in). Lots of muliply strikes, including takes downs.