shin pain

I

idgie

greetings. I have a question that I hope somebody can help me with. I am a new student in Kung Fu. As part of our training, we do jumping kicks. Nothing fancy, no spins or turns or kicking behind us. We just jump, kick, then land.
My problem is, after a few weeks of this, I am experiencing pain in my shins after a workout that includes these kicks. It's not a muscle pain, it feels more like they would feel if they were bruised along their full length. And of course, the pain is worse if I jump or run.
Does anyone know what this is, and what I can do to prevent it ?
:confused:

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Sounds like shin splints...damage to mucles and tendons that attach to your 'shin bone' (tibia).

Unfortunately, the best way to heal this - and prevent recurrence - is rest. Further jump kicks and the like will only make it worse and won't let the injury heal.

Explain the injury to the instructor and see if he/she will allow you to do normal kicks rather than jump kicks. Also, after the injury begins to heal, make sure you get an adequate warm-up before class (actually, always make sure you get an adequate warm-up!). You may also want to look into taping the arch of your foot...this seems to have good results for a lot of athletes.

One more thing, if you have a jogging/running program, either lay off of it for a bit or at least cut the mileage down considerably.

Bear in mind that I'm not a doctor or nurse or qualified in any way to dispense medical advice. Your best bet is to first consult your family physician, and/or see if said physician could recommend you to a sports doctor of some kind.

Good luck,

Cthulhu

karatekid1975

Master Black Belt
Reaction score