Leg Pain

cbjr5

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I posted the following text in the Tae Kwon Do section, which probably should have been posted here. Any info I can get though will be greatly appreciated.

I am new to Tae Kwon Do and have been taking it for just a little over a month. I have never taken any type of martial arts before and I'm in my early 40's. I enjoy doing Tae Kwon Do and look forward to my classes I go three times a week. As stated in an earlier post, Tae Kwon Do is a family affair for us meaning the whole family is taken it.

My question is reference leg pain, mainly to my right leg. In my hip/groin area, where your legs connect to the torso, I have pain. I've been told it is my tendons and that their sore because they are areas I have not used in the past. After warming up and stretching, my legs will feel fine. However, if at times I'm kicking, all of a sudden I feel a sharp pain and the rest of my work out shows my weak kicks. I usally go home and ice my legs, but at times they are so sore that I have to lift my own leg with my hands to put my pants on. After a day or two of rest, I'm able to get my legs to function and get ready for class. My left leg seems as though it is getting use to the training, but my right leg has not seem to heal yet as I still have a constant pain to it. even though it seems the pain is subsiding a little. Does anyone know roughly how long it can take to get use to the workouts. I don't mind soreness of my muscles and look forward to it as I know things are working out. I just don't want pain so I can continue doing Tae Kwon Do. Any advice would be appreciated

Logan

Green Belt
Reaction score
Go see a doctorphysio. You shouldn't stretch tendons. If the pain is muscle related, you could try undertaking some conditioning exercises. Go see a doctorphysio. Check your techniques as well and don't kick higher than your flexibility will safely allow. Go see a doctor/physio.

Dagney Taggert

Green Belt
Reaction score