Santi Shi question

blindsage

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Hey Xue, I know your feelings about Santi Shi being absolutely necessary to doing Xingyi, and that 20 min each side is a beginner, but....on another (internal arts) forum :D, I've seen a lot of talk by people who say their Xingyi teachers tell them that doing SS for long periods is not necessary (and in one case, that it can be harmful). I know you'll disagree, but I'm wondering if you have any insight into where this different mentality comes from and what the rationale is? (or anybody else?)

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
Actually after rereading al my books I have a slightly different outlook that I had previously and I am not so sure that long periods of time, greater than 30 minutes per side are necessary but then I am very much a beginner here. But I believe it was Wang Ji Wu that said 30 minutes a side was good and I am not going to pretend I know more than someone that did Xingyi until he was 100 years old, I will have to check though to make sure he was the one that said that. I have been on a rather rapid read of multiple Xingyi people of the last couple weeks and they are starting to blend together a bit in my noggin.

From what I have been reading it appears that 15 to 30 minutes per meaning 30 to 60 minutes is a good amount of time. However my previous sifu's sifu did say that to be a beginner you had to stand for 20 minutes per side. However this could be a style difference between Wang Ji Wu and BP Chan. Wang Ji Wu was Shanxi and BP Chan was from a Hebei style. Santi is different between the 2 styles as well.

Also I think the discrepancies come form style differences, teacher interpretation and simple miss understanding from teacher to student. But that happens in just about any art.

But then this is just my opinion based on books and the 2 sifus I have had

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score