Running pain

spiderboy

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I could do with some help…

For the last couple of evenings I have started trying to get into running, as I want to work on my general fitness, and can’t afford gym fees. I am not overweight but a bit out of shape.

I exercised for about half an hour both nights – warming up and down – running in a local park on grass not paths to look after my knees. I ran to the point of being really puffed out then a little more, but didn’t punish myself as I’m just getting started :D

After running I had the expected achy legs (mainly my quads) which I stretched off and had a hot shower to help loosen them up again. But I now also have some real discomfort in my right hip where the top of my leg meets the joint.

It’s difficult to describe, the best I can do is when I rotate my right leg inwards, the it hurts, when I rotate it outwards it feels fine. I am concerned that this feels more like a joint pain than a muscle pain – is this likely, and should I be worried?

I was expecting twinges, as I haven’t run for a while. But this is really uncomfortable. My Chiro once mentioned that my hips tend to get twisted outwards (total mis-quote, but it was something like that) and I do lots of stretching around the areas of my legs, butt and groin to try to help. Does it sound like this is playing up again?

Is it worth looking into something like swimming instead? I’m a lousy swimmer, but would practice if it meant not destroying my legs when I exercise!

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Alex

JamesYazell

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
How old are you? Its been my understanding that when your around 30 or so running really just beats up your body.

OP
spiderboy

spiderboy

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I'll be 27 this summer. I am used to knee problems and am quite careful about them - but the hip is a new one on me.

Alex

bushidomartialarts

Senior Master
Reaction score