Rotator Cuff Strengthening

Slipper

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Last November, I tore my rotator cuff in my right arm. It didn't require surgery but was a long healing process. It was quite painful. I did not return to my Aikido class until May (not entirely due to the injury). Last night, one of our newer members was trying to throw me (and not hurt me) so held onto my elbow as I fell. I felt it pull in that area and went easy on that side for the rest of the evening. Today, it's very sore - almost like a twisting in my armpit feeling - and I'm resting it. It's not as sore as when I hurt it late last year so I'm hoping that all is well.

I'd love to learn more about some exercises that would strengthen this area if anyone can help? I do not have access to a gym (we live in a rural area) and my next class isn't until next week (or I'd ask one of the guys for help).

Thanks and sorry if I'm posting in the wrong place. I'm still learning my way around the forum. :)

KempoGuy06

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Last November, I tore my rotator cuff in my right arm. It didn't require surgery but was a long healing process. It was quite painful. I did not return to my Aikido class until May (not entirely due to the injury). Last night, one of our newer members was trying to throw me (and not hurt me) so held onto my elbow as I fell. I felt it pull in that area and went easy on that side for the rest of the evening. Today, it's very sore - almost like a twisting in my armpit feeling - and I'm resting it. It's not as sore as when I hurt it late last year so I'm hoping that all is well.

I'd love to learn more about some exercises that would strengthen this area if anyone can help? I do not have access to a gym (we live in a rural area) and my next class isn't until next week (or I'd ask one of the guys for help).

Thanks and sorry if I'm posting in the wrong place. I'm still learning my way around the forum. :)
perfect place to post this and I can help.