rolling

mrhnau

Senior Master
Reaction score
I recently started studying, and have been having some issues keeping my rolls tight. I come from an Aikido background, and was wondering if others have found the transition difficult?

On a side issue, two other students (3rd kyu and 4th kyu) are the only regular students. They have really tight rolls and look really great. I'm wondering a few things. how much practice does it take to really get them effective? I'm about a foot taller than everyone else in the class, can I realistically expect to get them as tight and small as others? I don't want to mimic them, but I want to know what my realistic aim should be.

I've enjoyed taking classes so far. So much to learn! I would appreciate your insight!

MrH

Don Roley

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I had the same type of trouble when I took a semester of aikido. You just have to work on it. Try to get extra tight when you practice to build the habits. And for a long time, years... maybe decades, your body will go with the old program when you are under stress and not thinking about things. The only thing you can do is be very mindfull of what you are doing when training in something that is close, but different and be prepared to spend a lot of time on the matter.

Mountain Kusa

Orange Belt
Reaction score
What Don said too...... Oh, hey, try to relax, I find that as people start out they tend to be really tense. This in effect will make you bigger and longer and make you essentially a brick. It has nothing to do with weight either, so dont let your mind fall into that trap. I have seen small thin people that are bricks, just relax, go as slow as possible and feel your way through the roll. You will find that if you can relax here, it will weave its way through your taijutsu.

Cryozombie

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Mountain Kusa said:
just relax, go as slow as possible and feel your way through the roll.