Recommended readings..

Kylz

White Belt
Reaction score
I've learnt a bit from browsing around these forums so thankyou to those who contribute however since I'm only fairly new to TKD and only recently got my yellow belt I still don't have much to say around here however thirst for knowledge is huge!

I was hoping to compile a recommended reading list as I have a habit to grab a book before nodding off when I go to bed or if I'm taking a train/ bus/ plane etc somewhere. I might as well read something useful than not!

As for TKD theory thus far in class it hasn't really gone any further than the words we must learn for grading and some basic club/ TKD history. Just the other night I was reading about the meanings behind the various pomsae and it actually made me appreciate them more, I wish we were taught that in class. I think it would probably be handy having a nice reference book to complement what i learn at TKD, rather than furiously writing down after class what I remember of the patterns I've been taught as to not forget them by next class!

So my question is, if any what books would you recommend/ what books do you consider vital in your own study of tkd?

Thanks in advance. :)

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Sounds like you are looking for a KKW textbook of forms. I know one exists and has been given good reviews here.

That said, at your formative level, may I humbly suggest it is not time yet to start reading books or watching videos? Instead, try to take as many classes in person as you can. Give it a year or so before you start taking in information from sources other than your teacher.

StudentCarl

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
Amen to what Dancingalone said.