reading and following mma books

hma123

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
This probly sounds like a dum question,but ive recently purchased a mma book, shows moves,etc. Theres just SO much to look at that i dont know and in general. I have no clue really where to start in the book or any of my others for that matter. These books have alot to offer, where should i start (no im not a beginner,so i dont think the very start) but theres alot of stuff in the book i know but ALOT that i dont know.

What is it, just pick a move i like and drill it,learn as much as i can at once, take each move very slow until i master it,i dont know.

BTW its a standup book but i have a ground book that i dont know where to start or use it either.
THANKS!!

jarrod

Senior Master
Reaction score
flip through & see what grabs you. it probably grabbed you for a reason.

best of luck, supplemental book training is FUN.

jf

tallgeese

Green Belt
Reaction score
Pick a spot or aspect that you're having trouble with. Take a look and find some things that might be applicable and start there.

So, have trouble crashing the gap to engage? Find the section on shooting and start working. Trouble finishing from a position? Look up some subs from there. Is transitioning difficult? Lots of those books include drilling on such things. Take a look at those.

Generally, you'll get better reference material that pertinent to you if approach it this way.

Good luck. Which book did you end up with?

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
This probly sounds like a dum question,but ive recently purchased a mma book, shows moves,etc. Theres just SO much to look at that i dont know and in general. I have no clue really where to start in the book or any of my others for that matter. These books have alot to offer, where should i start (no im not a beginner,so i dont think the very start) but theres alot of stuff in the book i know but ALOT that i dont know.