Ranking in JKD?

Red Menace

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I know that Jeet Kune Do is not a traditional art and does not have the color belt ranking system of say Karate or Taekwondo, but do JKD focused schools usually have any sort of rankings? Is there a black belt level? Or do students eschew such things in favor of just training to meet personal goals? Just curious about what is typical in JKD.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It varies a lot. Where I studied JKD the instructor used belt rankings internal to his school for convenience but didn't consider them JKD ranks per se. He did give out the black belt to those making an assistant instructor level, but as much for comparison to other arts as anything else. He is moving more toward a more formal belt system, as I understand it. Another school where I studied it briefly used no ranks but did have instructor rankings. I think most JKD schools are more like that--no belts but some type of certification.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
As I understand there is not an official ranking system. Schools will use a in school system for there own reasons, but for the sake of the thread there is no official ranking syatem at all.

shihansmurf

Black Belt
Reaction score
I spent some time in Han Foo Wa back in the 80's and the 90's whch was JKD with the seriel numbers filed off and a belt system bolted on to it. Aside from that I've never encountered a JKD school that used a formalized belt/sash system. It sort of misses the point, IMHO.

Mark

P.S. There was more to Han Foo Wa than what I described above but thats outside the scope of this thread. I had a good experience with it and heartily reccomend it to anyone that can find a teacher. I just realized what I had written could be taken disrespectfully, which wasn't my intent.

Last edited:

khand50

Orange Belt
Reaction score