question

hong kong fooey

Black Belt
Reaction score
there is a KENPO class at Shepherd University in Sheperdstown WV. I was wanting to try it out and I wanted to know what the difference between Kempo and Tae kwon Do is. I have been praticing Tae Kwon doe for about 2 years now and just want to know the difference

hongkongfooey

Black Belt
Reaction score
hong kong fooey said:
there is a KENPO class at Shepherd University in Sheperdstown WV. I was wanting to try it out and I wanted to know what the difference between Kempo and Tae kwon Do is. I have been praticing Tae Kwon doe for about 2 years now and just want to know the difference

Hi Hong Kong Fooey,

You may want to contact Seig, one of the mods here. He has a Kenpo studio in Sheperdstown. He may also be the person teaching the class at the college.

HKF

still learning

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hello, Most kempo fighting is base on in close and inside fighting with mulitple strikes and striking. For us anyway. We do have takedowns and throws,chokes,grabs,punching, eye gouging,biting?, and so on.

It has all the ranges of fighing too!

In all most martials arts have the same general things and sometimes it is just names? If you go and see all the different arts, they look different? but when comes to real fighing...almost all fight the same way?

Just my thoughts on this...............Aloha

Sapper6

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
hong kong fooey said:

you will enjoy kenpo. very reasonable approach to self-defense. you will (should) have no doubt about what you are doing to your opponent, and why you are doing it.

alot more focus on body mechanics vs. kicks and wasted movement. ;)

enjoy it. you'll never turn back.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
hong kong fooey said:

I've had the opportunity to visit the Shephardstown school and would highly recommend it.