Question! Help I'm new :)

Eric7_27

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hey I'm kind of new to martial arts. I've been taking about a year now. Well I've done tournaments around Dallas that are sponsored by the AOK (theaok.org) but wanted to know what other types of tournaments there are in the world. For instance, what's the difference between

this type of tournament,
sparring.jpg

and this one?
KC8DSC_1581.jpg

I want to attend the latter type tournaments- that look more like the olympic ones. I have noticed that the styles are different. And the AOK allows all styles whereas these tournaments only do Taekwondo. Do you have to be a part of some membership or something? All the tournaments on like USA-taekwondo.com are like national events, and what are these qualifier things for? How can I find events like that in my area?? And do you have to be a black belt to attend them? I appreciate any helpful response :)

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Admin Note

Thread moved to the TKD section where it will generate more replies.

Mike Slosek
MT Asst. Admin

mango.man

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Hi Eric and welcome.

I have never heard of the AOK, so I do not think I will be of much help to you there.

As for your bottom picture, that appears to have been taken at the recent USA Taekwondo (USAT) Senior Nationals / Junior Olympics, in San Jose.

USAT is the national governing body for TKD in the US. If you have dreams of being an Olympian, the only possible way you can reach that dream in the USA is to go through them. They are the only Taekwondo body for the US Olympic Committee.

Just a side note the Olympics use WTF style TKD and follow WTF rules. See www.wtf.org and therefore USAT events are the same.