Quality Chinese White Wax Staff

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Okay so we are having a discussion on wooden training weapons here: http://www.martialtalk.com/forum/210-general-weapons-discussion/115826-weapon-questions.html

Xue mentioned just get a Chinese White Wax Staff and be done with it. That got me to thinking as I have very little experience with Chinese arts and I am curious about the strength and resiliency of a Chinese White Wax Staff (especially in comparison to Japanese White Oak) where would I get one that is the real deal top of the line. Mind you I need the best not a cheaper knock off utilizing the name. Thanks

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Okay so we are having a discussion on wooden training weapons here: http://www.martialtalk.com/forum/210-general-weapons-discussion/115826-weapon-questions.html

Xue mentioned just get a Chinese White Wax Staff and be done with it. That got me to thinking as I have very little experience with Chinese arts and I am curious about the strength and resiliency of a Chinese White Wax Staff (especially in comparison to Japanese White Oak) where would I get one that is the real deal top of the line. Mind you I need the best not a cheaper knock off utilizing the name. Thanks

I was in NYC Chinatown this weekend & at Bok Lei Po they have some 9 footers in there that are about as thick as a baseball bat & running down to about half-dollar diameter. I'd order one of those but you'd probably need to call it in to describe exactly the stick. They're on the floor in front of the shoes.

The problem with white waxwood, most people want it light for the "appearance" sake when performing & don't want any backbone in it. So they're a bit thin & flimsy. If you want something with some backbone & made of waxwood, look for "nan gun" or "Southern Style" sticks. They're generally thicker & heavier.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score