Protecting Feet from Injury - Takin' Care of the Doggies

gkygrl

Green Belt
Reaction score
Ok, I am a newbie with MS and a lot of times, I don't feel my feet fully (this makes for fun) or I OVER feel them with all kinds of funky sensations like pins and needles, heat, burns/scrapes. Really strange stuff -- let me tell you.

Right now I am in the process of learning some simple kicking. It's difficult for me to understand proprioception sometimes (positioning) because of MS -- especially on the back kick.

I need to understand how to protect my feet better. One of them which has altered sensation recently is more bruised than it should be on the top. I want to work with a Wavemaster -- but I don't want to injure my "doggies" too much. I have MA shoes which I am going to start wearing but I wondered if anyone could recommend anything else (a certain kind of padding)?

I think I am working my right foot harder than I should and that is part of the problem. My issue is with position sensing and some lack of sensation.

Thanks a ton!

myusername

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Hi Gkygrl,

I'm a newbie too so my suggestion is a bit of a guess, but perhaps some sparring foot protectors might do the trick? Most martialarts shops sell them. They would protect the top of your feet and your toes but I don't think that they will provide much protection for the soles of your feet so it depends where your feet are hurting as to whether they will be useful.

Good luck with your training,

Mark :)

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Wrestling shoes are probably your best bet. They give you better ankle support then the TKD style shoe would, and in my experience, last a lot longer too.

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Wrestling shoes are probably your best bet. They give you better ankle support then the TKD style shoe would, and in my experience, last a lot longer too.

Wrestling shoes definately are the way to go for footwear.
icon6.gif