Professions - A Three or Four Beer Discussion

tellner

Senior Master
Reaction score
The short time I spent practicing Krav Maga was a noontime class. It was a very mixed crowd including a lot of firefighters and police officers. They were generally a lot of fun to work with. They were strong, physically fit (especially the firefighters), not afraid of contact, businesslike and mostly pretty serious about what they were doing. The firefighters tended to be very strong, not body builder muscular, but "I carry heavy stuff around for a living" powerful - wiry, brick shaped or slab sided. Many of the cops looked like they spent a lot of time with the weights. The real differences were in approach.

The police officers almost always hesitated just a fraction before mixing it up. You could almost see the Threat Assessment and Use of Force libraries getting loaded. They tended to make themselves look bigger and use more psychological signals for taking up space and dominating the situation.

The firefighters could be relied on to get right to the point and start swinging (or twisting, or throwing, or kicking, or stabbing... :) ). They didn't expand the and try to intimidate the same way.

I'm pretty confident of the accuracy of the observations at least for that sample. What's not so clear is the reason for it. My wild-*** guess is that it's the nature and culture of the work.

A police officer has to be able to fight. No doubt about it. But he or she has to "go cloaked in the Majesty of the Law". Psychological command is most important. A cop who has to rely on his or her fists all the time is deficient in very important skills. And the questions "Is there a threat?" and "What's the appropriate sized can of whoop-*** to open for the occasion?" always have to be answered.