Poor MT in MMA

Kieran

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Has anyone else noticed the poor Muay Thai skills in MMA? Through all the promotions I always hear someone say they do muay thai and have done for x years (x = big number usually) but when you see them fight they show little or no muay thai technique or even skill.

For example, I was watching bodogfight season 3 yesterday and one guy said "I have been training Muay Thai for 7 years and BJJ for 5". But it looked like he was talking months, not years! His kicks were pathetic, his stance was wrong and he didn't move like a Thai boxer at all. I understand some of these things may change in an MMA match where you have to quickly adapt but to be training 7 years and not be able to kick properly?

Has anyone else noticed this?

Hand Sword

Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
In the Void (Where still, this merciless GOD torme
Yep! The Boxing looks terrible too. The problem is they only dabble in those areas and focus more on the wrestling/BJJ, or more specifically, the offensive aspects of those styles. Once they are on the receiving end, they look clueless.

OP
K

Kieran

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I've never understood the low guard either? Is that taken from the grappling arts? It is most certainly the reaon for more than a few knockouts!

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
It's true you need a wide stance in MMA, it's not true that MMA fighters 'dabble' in styles, at least not here. 'Dabblers' would get weeded out vey quickly.
Keiran I assume you are talking about American promotions? Most American fighters seem to come from a wresting background, ours do not with one or two exceptions such as Abdul Mohammed who is not english and was in his countries Olympic team. Look for him in the UFC from the UK.
Many British fighters train MT in Thailand, Micheal Bisping does as do the fighters from our club. Sponsored by Fairtex we train with them in Bangkok.