Online Martial Arts Study

manikmaxx

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm new here. My name us Maxwell and I am a student at Humboldt State University in California. Im majoring in international studies with an emphasis in chinese cultural studies. This semester I am taking an ethnography course which focuses on the cultures of specific communnities from the point of view of the insider. For my term paper I would like to investigate and study people who learn martial arts from a distance via video, internet, etc. For my part, I have begun to practice Wing Chun from the Master Wong system.

Some of the questions I seek to answer include:
1. Who chooses this mode of learning and why? What are the reasons behind the choice?
2. The what, when, where, and how of an average routine.
3. What are some non-practice related things long distance users do in addition to their training? Supementary material.
4. What an individual gains from such practice? How does the community benefit?

I am currently seeking volunteers to help with my study over the next several weeks. Any help that anyone could give me would be great. At this point I am obligated to say that anything posted will remain anonymous in my report unless otherwise specified by you. Although the report I will write seeks to bring benefits to the community, these benefits will most likey be in understanding only. There is no direct benefit to those who volunteer other than my appreciation.

If you have any questions you can respond here or email me at [email protected]

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
You may find this a tricky one, online training is generally looked down on as it can, at best, only cover a small portion of what makes martial arts interesting.