On or off?

still learning

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hello, I am still new at using computers and always turn them off at each day or use. A friend mention that I should always leave the computer ON?

Please let me know what you feel about leaving a computer ON or OFF? We use it at night mostly (surfing) and for the Kids homework. ....Aloha

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Turn it off to save power.
If you leave it on all the time, reboot it occasionally (once a week maybe) just to let it clear out it's caches. The only time my systems off is when I'm working on it's guts, or going out of town for a few days. Otherwise, it runs 24/7 :)

But the on/off things a personal preference.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Now adays computer come with energy saver so there are no real value to shut them down anymore. I just leave them on until they die and then refix those damm things.
Terry

Tarot

Purple Belt
Reaction score
My computers have a sleep mode, at the end of the day I put it to sleep. This means the harddrive is not running but my computer still has power. In the morning they get woken up. :)

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I turn it off, why use power?

They do need rebooted at a minimum every once and a while.

What might be going on is your friend might work for a company that tells employees not to shut them off. The reason is IT can remote administrate them, and they do, overnight.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
Turn it off, a reboot never hurts and can help fix the occasional problem. Also depending on which operating system you are using it helps reset the OS, if you will.