muscle shapes

H

hand2handCombat

ive seen some ppls calf muscle extend outward and they are huge as in muscular. and ive seen some otheres who have them extend down toward their foot, those are muscular as well..

i was wondering why the shapes were different, is it because of the exercises they do or what???

OP
R

Richard S.

hmmmm..could be mass vs. endurance exercises or just plain genetics...............respects.

OP
K

Kirk

I'm no expert, but my vote would be with genetics. The calves
are one of the few muscles that you cannot over-train (or so
they say) .. they're also one of the hardest to develop, for
most body builders.

Nightingale

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
you've got a couple of different muscles in your calf. It just depends on which ones you work more, and how you work them. If you're doing more limbering activities such as dance or martial arts, your muscles tend to be long and strong, but not bulky. if you're doing more weights, you tend to increase muscle bulk. Think about flexibility and mass on a sliding scale...the more flexibility your muscles have, the less mass, and the more mass, the less flexibility (just a general guide, not always true). It also depends on how much testosterone and other hormones you've got, and what you eat.

OP
H

hand2handCombat

so basically what you guys are saying is

strengh vs endurance exercises. like a soccer player and a track guy vs a guy walking with weights.

so according to what ur saying, if you do wieghts with endurance excersices, it will increase the size quickly

Nightingale

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score