Meeting your instructor in the street

bluemtn

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm not really a beginner, but I thought this is as good of a place to ask as any. What is the norm in the way of showing respect to your instructor when you just run into them on the street? This happened to me the other day while going to a restaurant- he seemed fine with shaking hands, but someone said in a book, to bow, like you're in class. I know I've had the tendency to bow just because it was habit. I'm curious on what everyone around has to say about it.

Jade Tigress

RAWR
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Good question. I'm curious to see other replies. I don't have a good one myself. I only ran into my instructor once outside of class. We have a pretty good relationship in class so we just greeted each other as friends except I still would have a hard time calling him by his name outside of class because I'm so used to addressing him as Sifu.

However, I was in a store shortly after I started MA and saw a couple high ranked students from another location of our school there. They subtley hand saluted and nodded to each other.

mantis

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Sil Lum TigerLady said:
Good question. I'm curious to see other replies. I don't have a good one myself. I only ran into my instructor once outside of class. We have a pretty good relationship in class so we just greeted each other as friends except I still would have a hard time calling him by his name outside of class because I'm so used to addressing him as Sifu.

However, I was in a store shortly after I started MA and saw a couple high ranked students from another location of our school there. They subtley hand saluted and nodded to each other.
i met my instructor online he was like stop calling me "Sir" we're out of class

7starmantis

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It all depends on your instructor and how he teaches. Some are stricter than others on these aspects.

7sm

bignick