Mastering Opposite Leg Kick & Getting Powerful Punches

boba7523

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi guys, i'm a beginner Muay Thai student (started 3 weeks ago) and am fairly skinny, standing at 5.8" and 140 lbs. I'm a right handed and have 2 concerns I'd like to address here:

1.) My jab, cross, and hook are fairly weak. We were working on a combo (jab, cross, hook, cross) on the heavy bags and I always lose my balance (fall backwards) after finishing the combo. How do i gain strength for more powerful punches? I'm doing all the techniques correct, such as rotating my hips on my cross.

2.) Since i'm right handed, when i kick with my left leg, it is very awkward. Because of this awkwardness, i can't really deliver powerful kicks. For those who went through this, how did you guys overcome this problem?

Thanks
smile.gif

Cyriacus

Senior Master
Reaction score
1: Losing Balance? Thats new to me. Is your Stance too short/narrow? Or are you perhaps leaning out of your Punches? As for power, Air Punch with 10-25KG Weights in each Hand. Or just Practice.
2: PRACTICE. Thats all. Some Balance Exercises might Help, but just Practice against Air. Itll take a few Weeks, but its the best way.

2 is extremely common, its the main one im answering. But 1? Im interested to hear others replies regarding One.

seasoned

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
When you do the last of the combo, the hook, make sure if you hook with you lift fist that your weight is on the opposite leg. If your weight is on the same side as the hook it will make you unstable. As you do the whole combo, jab,cross, hook, what ever fist is used, the weight should be on the other leg. If the weight is on the same side as the hand technique it will cause a balance problem. I hope it helps.........

GisanOx

White Belt
Reaction score