making your hands smarter

dturtleman

White Belt
Reaction score
hi, guys. i'm still a relative noob; i'm a yellow belt, hoping to test for my high yellow next month. i've been doing tae kwon do for about a year. does anyone crosstrain in another art, in order to get better at punching/hand techniques?

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
hi, guys. i'm still a relative noob; i'm a yellow belt, hoping to test for my high yellow next month. i've been doing tae kwon do for about a year. does anyone crosstrain in another art, in order to get better at punching/hand techniques?
There is a lot to be said for TKD hand basics. However the differences in the other arts have to do with how you approach situations. If you like TKD, learn it, then search.
sean

OP
D

dturtleman

White Belt
Reaction score
well, to be honest, i like my teacher, and the best part of the class is the class time: 5:30 am fits my schedule. i just wonder sometimes if tkd is right for me. however, i could easily be a martial arts tramp; i keep flirting with bjj (5 minutes from my house), shorin-ryu karate( 2 blocks from my house), sambo (15 minutes from my house). maybe a problem i have with tkd, is that it still makes me feel like a klutz.

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
well, to be honest, i like my teacher, and the best part of the class is the class time: 5:30 am fits my schedule. i just wonder sometimes if tkd is right for me. however, i could easily be a martial arts tramp; i keep flirting with bjj (5 minutes from my house), shorin-ryu karate( 2 blocks from my house), sambo (15 minutes from my house). maybe a problem i have with tkd, is that it still makes me feel like a klutz.