Low stance or higher stances

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
At this year AAU TKD National we saw more low stances than ever before, this must be because of the overwhelming TSD participant this year, it was a pleasure seeing people being rooted with a stance and not just going though the motion of standing. So wich do you prefer and why?

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm not sure if I prefer lower stances, but I do appreciate them. As an instructor, I notice my students often aren't completely flat-footed in their front stances during forms. I think it's due to thinking of the next technique in the form. (At least it was when I did them like that as a student). I look at doing an intentionally lower front stance during forms(not Okinawan-style lower, just low enough) a sign of attention to detail in a TKD practioner. Attention to detail is what makes it an art, not just learning to kick & punch.

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Well, first I have to ask what you mean by "high" and "low" in regards to stances? I'm not trying to be difficult - but my definition of high and low may not match yours.

As far as stances go, they should be solid, stable, and yet students in them should still be mobile. What that means in terms of high and low is going to vary by art and by stance - some stances are designed to be higher or lower by definition.

OP
terryl965

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Well, first I have to ask what you mean by "high" and "low" in regards to stances? I'm not trying to be difficult - but my definition of high and low may not match yours.

As far as stances go, they should be solid, stable, and yet students in them should still be mobile. What that means in terms of high and low is going to vary by art and by stance - some stances are designed to be higher or lower by definition.