Looking into Hapkido

HighKick

Black Belt
Reaction score
i have been looking into different Martial arts and trying to decide what to do. I went to a BJJ class and I loved it. They also do MT and teach striking. I want to a few Krav Maga classes and like that as well. We have a reputable Hapkido school near us and was wondering if that would be a good option as well. I am looking for a good workout, this will be replacing the Crossfit I have been doing for the past 8 years. I also want to learn a great system and possibly compete. I am 46 years old. Would like be to hear from Hapkido veterans about your thoughts on the art and what it offers.

HighKick

Black Belt
Reaction score
i have been looking into different Martial arts and trying to decide what to do. I went to a BJJ class and I loved it. They also do MT and teach striking. I want to a few Krav Maga classes and like that as well. We have a reputable Hapkido school near us and was wondering if that would be a good option as well. I am looking for a good workout, this will be replacing the Crossfit I have been doing for the past 8 years. I also want to learn a great system and possibly compete. I am 46 years old. Would like be to hear from Hapkido veterans about your thoughts on the art and what it offers.
Since you are wanting to replace a Crossfit level workout routine, I don't think Hapkido is going to give you that. Unless the class has been augmented to include a good dose of cardio.
Hapkido is mostly about joint lock and manipulation. These things are hard to practice because they are mostly 'ending' moves. It is fantastic as a supplement to other styles but not so much if you want a cardio heavy workout. Again, maybe the class mentioned has supplemented.
I have never been to a Krav class so I cannot speak to that.
The BJJ I have dappled in was a great workout. Closer to wrestling because there are long stretches where your whole body will be in a strain. A great cardio workout.