Looking into Hapkido

paperguynj

White Belt
Reaction score
i have been looking into different Martial arts and trying to decide what to do. I went to a BJJ class and I loved it. They also do MT and teach striking. I want to a few Krav Maga classes and like that as well. We have a reputable Hapkido school near us and was wondering if that would be a good option as well. I am looking for a good workout, this will be replacing the Crossfit I have been doing for the past 8 years. I also want to learn a great system and possibly compete. I am 46 years old. Would like be to hear from Hapkido veterans about your thoughts on the art and what it offers.

WaterGal

Master of Arts
Reaction score
If you're really interested in competing, I'd suggest going with the BJJ. HKD doesn't really have a competition scene in the US (I'm assuming the NJ in your name is for New Jersey), and doesn't tend to be very sport-focused.

As for what HKD has to offer... first off, I should say, HKD is very decentralized, so every school is going to be different.

That being said, Hapkido is hybrid art, combining standing grappling with striking. Some schools also include some basic ground grappling to be more comprehensive, but don't expect a lot of detail on that like you'd get in BJJ. HKD tends to avoid going to the ground, taking a general approach that could be summed up as "throw the bad guy on the ground, kick him in the head, and escape".

In my experience, Hapkido tends to have more focus on small joint manipulation compared with BJJ (lots of wrist locks, fewer leg locks or chokes), and more shoulder throws and sweeps. I personally like that, because the self-defense situation I'm probably most likely to encounter is "sleazy guy tries to grope me", and IMO a standing wrist or arm lock is a better solution to that compared with a triangle choke (less likely to get me in trouble anyway, lol).